Book publishing

I have been keeping myself busy the last few weeks with some freelance work.

I did have some packaging design work lined up with a company but (due to a lack of work for me) it didn’t go ahead which I was very gutted about because I loved working for them.

My Grandma published a book a few years ago called ‘The Family of Landless’ which sold out and went out of print. She wanted it re-publishing so I was given the job! I assumed after some googling that it would be pretty simple to do as there seemed to be a number of websites which provided templates and you could simply drop the text into it them. After attempting to do this on three different sites I gave up on this idea, the templates gave me no freedom to do what I wanted, even to the extent of centering certain text (which maybe I should of expected since I was using a template). In the end I decided to bite the bullet and use InDesign, I had been avoiding this idea because I had never used it before but I picked up the basics fairly easy since I can use Illustrator and Photoshop. At uni we never really had lessons on how to use any of these programs, which I found really hard to start with but in the long run I think it is way better to teach yourself because you actually remember it!

I downloaded a basic template for InDesign from ‘blurb’ which gave me the dimensions, gutter etc. and got to. I had a few bits I struggled on but it actually went well and I learnt how to use a new program. The book is currently in the process of being printed so we will have to see what the test copy looks like and if there are any tweaks I need to make when it come back in a few weeks.

Leave a Reply

